Bryce Young wins the Heisman Trophy 2021 season

(CNN)Bryce Young received the Heisman Memorial trophy for the 2021 college football seasons Saturday night at New York City's Lincoln Center. This was the 87th annual ceremony to honor the sport's most prestigious award.

After last Saturday's dramatic performance in the Southeastern Conference Championship game win over Georgia, the University of Alabama quarterback was the clear favorite for this award. He set a conference record with 461 yards including 421 in air.

The win propelled the team to the nation's top seed heading into the College Football Playoff, where they will play the undefeated Cincinnati Bearcats in the Cotton Bowl Classic. In the Orange Bowl, the Michigan Wolverines will take on the Georgia Bulldogs.

At the awards ceremony, Young said, "It's an individual award, but it's a team award. Without these guys, I wouldn't be able to do it."

Tuesday, Young was asked about the potential of being the first Alabama QB to win the award: "To follow the great quarterbacks that we've had and to have this opportunity, it's a huge blessing and something I don't take for granted."

Young was also named a finalist along with Michigan defensive lineman Aidan Hutchinson and Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett. Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud were named finalists for the award earlier this week.

Alabama Crimson Tide wide receiver DeVonta Smith accepted the award for the 2020 college football season in a virtual ceremony in January 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, following a delayed season that didn't begin until late September. Before Smith, two other players from Alabama had also received the honor: running back Mark Ingram in 2009 and running back Derrick Henry in 2015.

Young's selection as a Heisman finalist puts Alabama in a tie for Oklahoma with 11 finalists, according to The Heisman Trust. This is Alabama's ninth consecutive Heisman Trust nomination.

Young, a sophomore, finished the season with 4,322 yard passing, 43 touchdowns, four interceptions, and 4322 yards receiving.

Ballots were sent out to 870 media members across the country to allow them to vote for the four finalists. Every Heisman winner alive and accounted for gets a ballot. The final tally also includes an overall fan vote.

The trophy has been awarded annually since 1935, to the "most outstanding football player in the United States." It is named in honor of longtime college football coach John W. Heisman, who was also the athletic director of the New York Downtown Athletic Club.

CNN's Christina Maxouris contributed to this article. Jacob Lev also contributed.